Anvil Press Poetry


Michael Hamburger

Michael Hamburger (1924–2007) was a poet and critic of distinction as well as the outstanding translator of German poetry. His awards include the Schlegel-Tieck Prize (1981), the German Federal Republic’s Goethe Medal (1986) and the EC’s first European Translation Prize (1990) for Poems of Paul Celan. Five collections of his poetry appeared since Collected Poems 1941–1994. He also published several collections of essays, the critical study The Truth of Poetry, and an autobiography String of Beginnings. His translations include selections from Celan, Eich, Goethe, Hofmannsthal, Hölderlin, Peter Huchel, Rilke and others.

Films about Michael Hamburger

Two films were made towards the end of his life: one by Tacita Dean (see and one by Frank Wierke, Michael Hamburger: An English Poet from Germany, which was premiered at the Goethe Institut in London in 2007:

It  is available on DVD from:

Wierke Film
Platanenallee 69
D 59425 Unna

By Michael Hamburger
Edited by Michael Hamburger
Translated by Michael Hamburger

Our featured books

Alibi cover

Ştefan Aug. Doinaş: Alibi

Read more »
Continuum cover

Nina Cassian: Continuum

Read more »
Take My Word for It cover

Nina Cassian: Take My Word for It

Read more »